Accelerate Gritstone Series

Welcome to the Gritstone Series

Fell Racing in the Dark Peak
Eight Events … Five to Score

The Accelerate Gritstone Series 2014 will once again be bringing a number of established Peak District events together, under one series. Each race will run as before and in it’s own right.
Due to the popularity of the Burbage Skyline race it has been dropped from the series, however, new for 2014 we welcome the Woodhead Mountain Rescue Grin and Bear it race to the series.
Following on from previous years, junior fell runners will get their chance in the Gritty Series. Wolf’s Pit is the first fixture for the juniors and they must complete 3 of the 4 rounds to count for the series.

 Sunday 16th March  Wolf’s Pit Fell Race (including Gritty Series)
 Friday 6th June  Castleton Fell Race (including Gritty Series)
 Sunday 8th June  Accelerate Edale Fell Race (including Gritty Series)
 Sunday 20th July  Great Hucklow Fell Race (including Gritty Series)
 Friday 1st August  Salt Cellar Fell Race
 Saturday 30th August  Longshaw Sheepdog Trials Fell Race
 Sunday 5th October  Late Edition – Curbar Commotion
Sunday 12th October  Windgather Fell Race – CANCELLED
 Saturday 1st November  Grin ‘n Bear It Fell Race


Please Note: Windgather was notified as cancelled on the 2nd September by the Race Organisers. The FRA has been informed and the reason given is contractual difficulties with the Forestry Commission. The event will be replaced with the Curbar Commotion, which will take place on the 5th October, as this clashes with a number of other events the Series will be Four to Score.
Full details of all the events and the inclusion of the Curbar Commotion can be found on the series events page, here.

The Accelerate Gritstone Series for 2014 continues with Inov-8 as series partner, along with Accelerate. Inov-8 will again be providing spot prizes for each event and the Gritty Series.

The Background…

All the best ideas are said to be to come from meetings on the golf course. In this case it was a run over the Dark Peak. Burbage Skyline organiser Andy Moore and Stuart Hale (Accelerate) were looking at the idea of a new series of fell races for the Peak District, to bring out the best in the areas races. A couple of pints later and the Gritstone Series was born and all that was needed was four more events. The 2009 Series kicked off and launched at Burbage. That year Stuart Bond and Lucy Harris took the honours.

Helen ElmoreThe 2009 Series was such a success that two more events were added in 2010, with the final event fittingly at the Goyt Valley’s race, Windgather. Both the Goyt and Gritstone Series concluded at this event which is probably a first and made for a fitting close to the second year. In 2011 Stuart Bond retained his title, with Helen Elmore (pictured) taking the ladies title. In 2012 Helen once again retained the Women’s title with the up-coming Aidan Smith winning the men’s series. For 2013 the Series was extended to eight events, introducing the Salt Cellar Fell Race, organised by Steel City Striders.

For both 2009 and 2010 New Balance and Terra Nova supported the Series. From 2011 Inov-8 become the main Series sponsor. Accelerate continue to look after the Series and contribute with this website, race numbers and prize support of each individual event, where required.