Skip Navigation


One Series … Six Events … Four to Score

For 2024 there will a total of six events in the Series.  Four must be completed to qualify for the series

The 2024 events are:

10th March, Wolf’s Pit Fell Race: 9km / 5.6mi 450m / 1476ft of ascent
9th June, Accelerate Edale Fell Race: 7.6km / 4.7mi 402m / 1319ft of ascent
26th June, Hope Fell Race: 9.5km / 5.9mi 451m / 1470ft of ascent
7th July, Great Hucklow Fell Race: 10km / 6mi 340m / 1000ft of ascent
2nd August, Salt Cellar Fell Race: 10.9km / 6.8mi 486m / 1594ft of ascent
27th August, Eyam Fell Race: 10.3km / 6.4mi 243m / 800ft of ascent


Further details of the events can be found on the series events page, Here
The online series entry form can be found, Here

The Gritstone Series is FREE. You need to enter and pay each individual race.

The points
To calculate your points for each race the winners time is divided by yours and this is then shown as a percentage. For example, if you take twice as long as the winner then you will score 50 points. The winner always scores 100 points.
The same applies for the Women’s Series, with the winning lady at each event scoring 100 points.

Remember your points for each race are calculated from your time, not your position, so you’ll need to push all the way to the line to get as many points as possible.

The Prizes
Series Prizes will be provided by Scott Running, the Accelerate Running Store and Accelerate Physio and Coaching.

Overall Series Podium places: 1st, 2nd and 3rd.
Plus, 1st and 2nd V40, 1st V50 and 1st V60, men and women in all cases.

The Gritstone ‘True Grit’ Award
All you have to do is run every single event to get yourself onto the Gritstone Series True Grit list. We think it’s quite a challenge. So tell us if you are up for the attempt, we want to know who you are. Every ‘True Grit’ runner will receive a memento of their endeavours.

Series Rules and Event Rules
For the Series, the rules are pretty much as above, let’s keep it simple…
In the event of a Series ‘Draw’, then head to head races will be used to decide the winner. If different races have been entered then the runner with the biggest winning margin, in minutes, from all their qualifying races will be deemed to have won the Series.

Each event has an FRA Licence to take place and therefore each organiser follows the rules as laid down by the governing body of our sport, the Fell Running Association.
It is every fell runners responsibility to carry any mandatory kit, to wear their number on the front of their race-day top and not to fold it or hide it on their back under a back-pack!  It must be clearly visible.  It is also expected that anyone heading out onto the hills can navigate, look after themselves if the weather turns and they have to walk. There has been some great stories over the years where runners have aided others who have taken a tumble or need a hand. The spirit of Fell Running.
Please, follow all instructions given to you by race organisers and if in any doubt then please check with them.

Accelerate Running Store

Accelerate Physio & Coaching

SCOTT Sports